Farmers Markets in Nice.

I’m behind.

I’m about to leave Rome to head to Turkey and I’m almost 2 blogs behind. Shit.

I switched to holiday mode in Nice.

After a relatively short bus ride from Como I found myself in Nice. I knew that being in the French Riviera things would be pricey. So I stocked up on supplies in Como.

Yep, I was that weird chick who entered the bus with a box full of food and a couple of bottles of wine. Seriously though, it cost me €20 for some beer, wine and a whole bunch of food that I didn’t even get through in Nice.

…I proceeded to make myself a panini on the bus complete with pesto, gherkins and rocket. Bangin’ – and totally worth the weird looks.

Monaco! We had a quick photo stop in Monaco.

On arrival I dumped my stuff and headed straight to the kitchen to make myself a much needed bowl of veggies and gnocchi. Cheese and bread only get you so far…

IMG_6078  IMG_6080

Sooooooo good.

The next day I visited the Flowers and Farmers Market in Old Town…

…and lost my shit.

Locally made pestos, fresh olives, fruit and vegetables and gorgeous fresh bread…

Losing my shit in Nice. IMG_6090 IMG_6091    IMG_6094 IMG_6096 IMG_6102

I returned with a whole backpack full of goodies – lunch was served!

IMG_6107

I decided in Nice that I was just going to chill out for a bit – so that’s what I did…

I spent hours  on the pebble beach, got stuck into my book and relaxed… I seriously didn’t visit any sites or do anything particularly tourist like. It felt good.

I think sometimes you get so caught up in making the most of your time, feeling like you need to visit every landmark that you end up needing a holiday from your holiday when you return home… and that’s my justification for not even taking the bus to Monaco for a quick visit.

IMG_6119

I met a bunch of people at the hostel – which I would highly recommend staying at check it out here Villa Hostels

It’s super social and they sell €1 beers – you can’t argue with that. Although I chose to avoid them and go for the €6 bottles of rosè.

Didn't help my hangover.
Didn’t help my hangover.

We ended up hitting the beach and I got quite drunky – and saturated from the tide coming in.

Needless to say the following morning was a bit sketchy – I ended up getting up, and jumping in the ocean. My go to hangover cure.

Success!

…and then I passed out on the beach for a few hours.

My final night in Nice involved dinner and drinks with some of the guys I had met on my bus trip.

We stumbled upon these awesome guys playing in the street on our way to dinner and I ended up having to be dragged away! They were very blues and rootsy and I imagined I was in New Orleans for a moment.

Anyone who has watched the HBO series Tremè will know what I’m on about (PS. if you haven’t check it out – it’s about a neighbourhood in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina and really freaking good.)

I have uploaded a video on Facebook too (because I can’t do it on wordpress!!) where old mate jumps up on his bass. Check it out!

IMG_6133

Nice was wonderful – I definitely hit the switch into holiday mode – I got in one 8k run but apart from that I took it easy!

PS. I’m planning a way to stay in Europe for longer, anyone with ideas on how I can make this happen – work, easy way to get a visa etc. (or not but still get work!!) send your suggestions my way!

Next stop Barcelona – where I finally meet the lovely Camille who my sister Mel has been raving about, and shit gets a little out of hand with Luke and Teddy…!

Brickie!

3 thoughts on “Farmers Markets in Nice.

Leave a comment