Barcelona Bar Hop.


Barcelona!

Spain! I made it – time to party!

I think it’s fairly common knowledge that The Spanish like to party!

I have always had a love and fascination with Spanish culture, ever since we did a crash course in Spanish in year 7. By crash course I mean we tormented our poor Spanish teacher for 6 months before we moved on to Japanese.

While in Barcelona, I had the pleasure of staying with my brother in-laws brother Luke, and his gorgeous girlfriend Camille.

Luke and Cam live in this fantastic apartment in Barri Gotic, near the water and just of La Rambla – a famous strip in Barcelona lined with restaurants and rows and rows of souvenir stores. The area is a maze of sandstone buildings which open in to squares, the place is filled with bars and cafes and totally transforms of an evening.

Streets of Barcelona

I spent the first day by myself as Cam had taken Luke to Angora for the weekend (and had managed to cross the border without their passports – this girl gets stuff done!!) so I headed off to the beach where I discovered a lost and found market filled with music, food and vintage clothing.

IMG_6172 IMG_6171

I spotted a La Marzocco coffee machine and nearly wet my pants!! It was just 3 young guys selling their own beans and good coffee, yet another reason to fall in love with this place!

I also found a food and wine festival while walking to the beach – 10 for 3 tastings and a Riedel glass. Have I mentioned I LOVE Barcelona!

I hung out on the beach most of the day – drinking cocktails and relaxing. Perfection. I also found this super cute vegan place – just one girl pumping out some tasty vegan treats.

IMG_6196

The following day Luke, Cam and one of their friends Teddy and myself  trekked all over Barcelona, looking at all of Gaudi’s AMAZING works.

The guy was unbelievable – his works are a mix of spirituality, religion and acid trips. Sandstone and colours intertwined to form these awe inspiring buildings.

IMG_6296

IMG_6311

Teddy made a valid point –  “Imagine being the guy who was commissioned to work on the building next to a Gaudi building. It’d be almost impossible!”

Luke gave us quite the guided tour of Barcelona – he showed us some places that neither Teddy or I would have even known existed if it wasn’t for his and Cam’s local knowledge.

Including a bar hop…..

That evening we hit some of the local bars… it quickly got out of hand.

Teddy and I started off in this great bar which featured a zombie looking installation of a guy taking a crap on one of the walls…

IMG_6319

Luke then took us to this Cava bar where we all lost our shit a little. Cava is a Spanish sparkling wine that is beautiful and ridiculously cheap

This place is an institution – absolutely PACKED with people, you must order food with every drink. They serve tapas and glasses of  Cava for cheap cheap!

The only way I could describe it is like “a sausage sizzle with champagne” and when you’re done you just throw your rubbish on the floor – what of it?!

IMG_6321

IMG_6323

We also visited a cider bar and tried our hand at blow darts – basically just darts but you shoot them out of your mouth because apparently it’s safer…

IMG_6346

IMG_6351

Please note the score – I kicked butt!

We then visited one of Hemingway’s old hangs and naturally had some absinthe…

…and the rest is a bit of a blur!

IMG_6372

Luke and Cam were great hosts!

They took us to the amazing food markets La Boqueria where there was just rows and rows of food stalls and people everywhere. I saw some funky looking foodstuffs…

IMG_6209

IMG_6210

IMG_6211

IMG_6212

The street art throughout Barcelona was amazing too!

IMG_6247

 

 

IMG_6246

 

 

IMG_6250

 

 

IMG_6354

I just love this city, it has so much going on – the food, the bars, the beach and the buildings!

After spending a few days here I was desperate to find a way to stay! Next trip I will definitely plan to spend more time in Spain.

After travelling for a few weeks on my own it was so nice to see some family – even though I had only met Luke one time before this – at my sister and Andrew’s wedding. The hospitality that him and Cam showed me was just wonderful.

Next stop Roma – I won’t give too much away but I was definitely in for a bit of a shock….

Speak soon,

Brickie!

4 thoughts on “Barcelona Bar Hop.

Leave a Reply

