A Letter to Matilda

  
Dear Tildy,

You’re almost 5 months baby girl. We made it! Although at times I really questioned if we would. 

When you first arrived baby girl, mummy and daddy didn’t know what to do with you. You cried and cried and when I thought surely you would fall asleep, you cried some more. 

When I look back at photos of you from that time, mummy gets upset. Even when you were sleeping you were grimacing and you never looked content. 

When we first brought you home I didn’t enjoy it one bit. I missed my old life and wondered how we would survive. 

But look at you now baby girl! You grizzle when you need something and that’s pretty much it. 

You’ve learnt to squeal with joy and giggle and smile. 

You bring mummy and daddy so much joy and we are already so proud of you. 

We love watching you learn new things and like every other parent does with their babe, we think you’re pretty cute and very clever. 

It makes mummy so happy seeing you happy and your giggle warms my heart. 

Sometimes I lose patience with you, and I’m sorry for that baby girl. Mummy is tired, she forgets that you are just a baby and are moving to the beat of your own drum.  

Never lose that sparkle Tildy. 

Chase your dreams and dream BIG! Find something you love and run with it. For me, it’s writing and exercise. People might make fun of you (trust me – I still get it!) but give them one of your big smiles and move on by, baby girl. 

Maybe you’ll follow in your daddy’s footsteps and be good at every sport you try, or maybe you won’t. That’s ok! I do hope you get his patience and kindness though!

Maybe you’ll love books and being indoors, again, maybe you won’t and that’s ok too! 

I have no idea what will light that fire but I’m excited to watch it burn bright.

I’m sorry I wished away your first 3 months baby girl, but I’m so glad we made it out the other side. 

You and your daddy are my best friends.

We love you to the moon and back!

Love, 

Mummy! 

  

2 thoughts on “A Letter to Matilda

  1. I love the honesty in your letter to Tildy. If anyone ever tells you their newborn was a joyful breezy walk in the park they either have a very bad memory or they are lying!!! Granted, Tildy was harder than most but think what you’ve done in the last year! You made a tiny human and forged a bond with her through the struggle!! I so wish you guys were closer, would love to have s cuddle with that little sweetie.

    1. Thanks for the beautiful comment Lori!! I wish we lived closer to you guys too! Busting to meet you all!!
      She was a tough little one – but so proud of where we all are now, she’s a cheeky little monster now and I love her so much!!

Leave a Reply

