Pumpkin Muffins with Date and Coconut Icing.

Pumpkin muffins!

I want to eat ALL the food.

No seriously, since ramping up the training my appetite has doubled! While I sit here writing this I am thinking about what to have for second dinner!

The bonus of upping the training and getting stronger has been that I have finally managed to lose most of the Eurotrip weight from last years epic adventure where I put on 6kg in 5 weeks! Yes, you read that right!

It only took me a year…! Before I left I was the healthiest I have ever been and I really thought it would be easy to lose when I got back and into a routine. I took it for granted and was really surprised when I was struggling to fit back into my clothes 6 months on!

I didn’t want to force myself into a strict regime or “diet” but was also justifying eating that second burger because I was going for a run later…! I was also super impatient! I thought that after a month of getting back into training I would be right back where I was before I left –  and I was super frustrated when I wasn’t!! However, after taking the focus off losing weight and shifting it towards training for longer distance tris – what do you know?! My clothes fit me again!

I guess my point is, I underestimated how hard it would be and that it’s also very easy to fall into the mindset of well I am exercising heaps so I can eat 10 of everything including a tub of peanut butter and ooooh look chocolate!

Nate and I have both been trying to get out nutrition right with this amount of training too. I now understand the importance of fuelling my body right after my training sessions and my favourite go to is a banana and some Dextro. We are also learning the importance of nutrition while training!

Our aim on Sunday was to run as far as we could in 2 and a half hours. Nate made it to 30km while I got to 25km… after the 2 hour mark I was really shuffling and on struggle street so this weekend I will attempt to eat on my run… this is going to be a massive struggle for me as I used to get sick running even 2 hours after I had eaten!

These muffins are an awesome snack idea and they are SUPER moist. You could omit the barley syrup and add in some corn, basil and semi dried tomatoes for a savoury muffin too.

The malted barley syrup is awesome as it has a mix of simple and complex carbs perfect for both before and after exercise!YUM!

The bits and pieces

1 egg (or flax/chia egg)

1 tsp maca powder (optional)

1 tsp organic vanilla essence

1 tsp cinnamon, ground

1 tsp nutmeg, ground

2 C wholemeal SR flour

1 ½ C steamed pumpkin, pureed

¼ C olive oil

3 Tbsp malted barley syrup

 

Icing

15-20 dates

½ C shredded coconut

¼ C boiling water

IMG_6614

Preheat oven to 150°C and grease a muffin tray.

In a large mixing bowl, add wet ingredients and mix until well combined.

Add dry ingredients into mix and stir until well combined. Be careful not to overmix or the muffins will become tough and rubbery.

Spoon mixture into prepared muffin tray and bake for 15-20 minutes until golden on top.

Remove and let cool.

In a food processor, process dates and coconut adding water as needed to make the mixture smooth. You want it the consistency of icing so you can ice the muffins.

With a knife, ice the muffins with the date and coconut mixture and then devour!

Enjoy!

Brickie xx

IMG_6618

Leave a Reply

