Thumbprint Cookies.

Noms - I do love bikkies! :)
Noms – I do love bikkies! :)

Hooray for holidays! More time for baking and blogging!

image_3

It’s no secret I am a huge fan of chickpeas – but lately I have taken the relationship to a whole new level. Sneaking them into as many baked goods as a I can. Initially, I experimented with throwing a can into some banana bread for an extra protein punch. Then I tried to make some cookies, which to my delight worked first go! Hoorah!

After a weekend back in Mudgee, eating terribly and no training I have no doubt I am trying to trick myself into thinking I am having something naughty while still eating healthy. Nate and I took Alexander + Archer back for my 3rd nephews christening.

Cuties :)
Cuties :)

Wowsers. It was SO much fun and was pretty cool knowing that the boys were relying on us to take care of them for 48 hours. It was also full on! They never stop, but I think we did a pretty good job, with the help of Nanny Kate and Lausy we made it through the weekend without any dramas and I hope my sister and her husband will let us do it again soon…

Parenting is easy, you just let them do whatever they want...
Parenting is easy, you just let them do whatever they want…
Parenting is easy, you just let them do whatever they want...
Parenting is easy, you just let them do whatever they want…

Huskisson Sprint Triathlon is calling my name this Saturday… in addition to this I am completing the 1km ocean swim on Friday. The swim is scheduled to start at 5:30pm and I am looking forward to the twilight swim, I have no doubt I will be super nervous before the start but I think it’ll be a good way to get the nerves over with before the sprint tri on Saturday. Eeeek!

image_2

The bits and pieces

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/4 C shredded coconut

1 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp organic vanilla extract

1/2 overripe banana

1/3 C maple syrup

2 Tbsp peanut butter

1 Tbsp cocoa powder

jam, for the drops

Soooo gooey!
Soooo gooey!

Pre heat oven to 175ºC and lightly grease a baking tray.

In a food processor, process chickpeas until smooth. Add maple syrup, vanilla and banana and process again until well combined. Add peanut butter and baking powder and process again.

Separate mixture into two bowls. In one bowl, mix in cocoa and coconut until well combined.

Spoon mixture onto baking tray and make a well in the centre of each biscuit. The mix will be quite sticky so this might be a bit tricky!

Add a dollop of jam into each well and bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes. Check at about 15 minutes and if the biscuits are browning too quickly turn the oven down.

image_4

Enjoy!

Brickie xx

2 thoughts on “Thumbprint Cookies.

Leave a Reply

