Vegan Hazelnut, Orange and Date Muffins.

IMG_7780

I’m sitting in the New England Brewery sampling their Brown Ale on my way to my intensive schools for university.

I stayed with my Grandma last night and hung out with my Aunty and cousins who live just down the road. Driving into Laurieton yesterday I was overwhelmed by the sense of loss I still feel for my Grandad who passed away 2 years ago last June. I can’t even begin to imagine how my Grandma must feel – in saying that, I know we are all grateful to have had such a lovely man with a unique and cheeky sense of humour be a part of our lives.

I also packed up the new wheels AKA Sirius Black to get a few rides in this week.
IMG_7788

I had a lovely brekkie this morning by the water…

IMG_7795

I hadn’t heard from the girl I am couch surfing with and Mandz suggested if I see it – stop in at the New England Brewery, which a guy she used to work with started. Literally 10 seconds later – I found it!

IMG_7796

Fate!

A minute after that my host messaged me – phew! Win win!

Anywho – let’s get down to business (while I wait to be under the legal limit).

These were my first attempt at vegan muffins. I’ve had an attempt at vegan banana bread and while I like it the recipe still needs work!

I also got sent some freebies from Natvia to try during the week too. Hoorah!

IMG_7768

I’ve always been a bit sceptical of stevia – it probably has something to do with the fact the one and only time I have previously used it I made this carrot cake that tasted like a diet coke version. Needless to say, that container is still rocking around the cupboard somewhere.

This stuff however, is actually really tasty!

You could replace the sultanas and dates with dried cranberries.

I also entered this in the bake off competition that Natvia is holiding – you can vote for me here….

https://www.facebook.com/sweeterlifeclub?sk=app_451684954848385&app_data=view-vote%2Cfor-1158474

 

and you can vote daily so please keep voting for me!!

The bits and pieces

2 C wholemeal spelt flour

1/2 C coconut oil, melted

2/3 C Natvia powdered sweetener

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

Juice of 6 oranges

Zest of one orange

1 tsp cinnamon

1 C hazelnuts, roughly chopped

2/3 C sultanas

12 dates, roughly chopped

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

Shredded coconut, for garnish

 

Pre-heat oven to 150ºC and grease a muffin tray.

In a large mixing bowl add dry ingredients except for coconut.

Stir well to combine.

Add wet ingredients to dry mix and stir well – careful not to over mix as the spelt flour will get tough if you over beat!

Pour into prepared muffin tray and top with coconut.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden.

Remover from oven and let cool for 5 minutes before turning out.

IMG_7785

Too easy!

 

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

