Baked Sweet Falafels.

Baked!

Back to reality… but, it’s not all bad.

I watched two of my favourites get married – congratulations Jessie and Troy!

IMG_7427

I’ve also started studying a Bachelor of Clinical Exercise Physiology and maths and statistics are kicking my arse! Along with this, because I’m not busy enough, I have decided to start training for some triathlons over summer.

Excitement!

My good mate Russ encouraged me to sign up for an Olympic length so I’m well and truly throwing myself in the deep end with this one. I’m a little bit concerned about my ability (or lack thereof) to swim 1.5K… if I drown – Russ, I’m blaming you!

Not a bad view.
Not a bad view.

He’s also got me into road riding, and hooked me up with a SICK bike. Again, I’m a little concerned about my ability to ride 40K after a massive swim… but hopefully training will pay off. I have no doubt that I will stack it at least once before these events in Summer… without a doubt, I am THAT kid.

Riding has taken me by surprise though, I’m a little bit in love! I like that you can see so much more riding than when I run. It’s also a good way to give my leggies a break from pounding the pavement.

I’ll be sure to keep you posted with my training successes (and failures!). First race is in December. EEEK.

I made these “falafels” as I was trying to put together a vegan cookie with no oil… They turned out really well. They really are just a sweet little morsel of goodness. Perfect pre or post ride!

Again, you could play around with what you put in them. And you could substitute whole almonds for almond meal or pop in some cocoa and hazelnuts… I will be trying that combination next.

Apologies for the pictures too – I seemed to consume all of these before I got any decent pictures… story of my life.

IMG_7539

The bits and pieces

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 cup almonds

15 dates

2 tbsp coconut flour (could use desiccated coconut)

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tbsp cinnamon

boiling water

 

Pre-heat oven to 150°C and line a baking tray with baking paper.

In a small bowl, cover dates with boiling water. You want the water to be about 1cm over the dates. Let sit while you blend other ingredients.

Using a food processor, blend chickpeas on high for about 5 minutes or until they form a smooth paste. Add cinnamon and almonds and process for another couple of minutes until almonds are in small chunks.

Throw in the dates and water and blend until they are incorporated. You don’t want it too smooth. You still want chunks of dates and almonds.

Roll mixture into small balls and place on prepared baking tray. Press down with a fork and pop in the oven for about 25 minutes. Make sure you don’t over bake them – they’ll be dry and yucky otherwise.

Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes before digging in.

These little guys should be stored in an airtight container in the fridge.

Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Baked Sweet Falafels.

  1. Hi lovely,

    My attempts last night to make but bars went 80% well, they taste great however quite crumbly.
    Should I have used more honey, coconut oil (don’t like to use too much if this it’s a bit overpowering) or could you suggest something else I could add?
    Dry ingredients incl roasted nuts, almond meal, coconut, almond butter, almond meal.

    Are you running at Mudgee this weekend?

    Catch up soon xxoo Ang

    1. Are they the ingredients you used? The almond meal almond butter etc? Because I didn’t use any oil the consistency would be different when you add fat (almond butter) maybe try it without it next time? I’m not really sure coz it’s a bit different haha I wouldn’t add more honey or anything either – chuck in a few more dates and blend for a bit longer… And just make small balls? Let me know how you go!!!
      Nah – I’m not running got uni intensive schools :( are you? Xx

      1. They are great now they have set overnight :)
        I’ve got a half on this Sunday, not as much training as I would have liked, so ill treat it as a good training session and not look at my time.
        Your tri traing looks to be well on the way, best time of year to start isn’t it getting lovely!

  2. Recipe looks good Brookie, will have to give it a try. Best of luck with the stats… that sounds terrible. I did a semester of psych at uni once, and that was enough stats for me.

      1. Oh really. Cheese is usually the hardest for most people. I used to be a flat white man when vego/ovo. But I never got into soy in my coffee, so I just have either long or short black now (with agave if at home). I enjoy it a lot more like that.

Leave a Reply

