Roughed up in Roma.

After an awesome night out in Barcelona, I hopped on a plane feeling a little worse for wear and headed to Roma!

Ahhhhh Rome, I had heard so much about this beautiful city and couldn’t wait to explore.

I dropped off my bags and quickly headed out before the sun went down. I had booked a cute little place where I had my own room but shared kitchen and bathroom. It was a beautiful old apartment in a really shitty part of town.

Dammit!

I walked around for a while not straying too far from my apartment and found a place to sit down and eat.

First mistake.

My waiter quickly took a liking to me and asked me for a drink when he finished work. I was umming and ahhhing about it because I thought he was full on and my instincts were telling me it wasn’t the best idea. Finally he said “Well I finish at 10 so come back down here if you want to have a drink”.

I went home, messaged a few friends asking what should I do – that should’ve been the indication right there… after a while I decided bugger it – it’ll be nice to go have a chat with someone and get out in rome – after all “When in Rome…”

Second mistake.

I arrived and first thing old mate does is grab me on the butt – yeah, this was never going to end well.

We walked down to a pub and had a drink, all the while he’s attempting to grope me and I’m attempting to exit.

After what was far too long I ended up making a speedy exit – not before he asked to come and lay with me in my room and casually stuck his hand up my skirt.

Yeah – good try buddy.

So after that I didn’t really venture out in Roma after dark.

The following morning I got up early and walked and walked and walked!!

First stop – Colosseum…

IMG_6474

IMG_6482

IMG_6462
Ooooh a Fiat in Rome!

I then stopped to get some gelati before visiting the Trevi Fountain.

IMG_6511
IMG_6530

While walking around near the Trevi Fountain, I saw this guy killing it with a spray can. There are heaps of these people all over Rome but this guy was unreal! I watched him complete 2 paintings in the space of 10 minutes.

IMG_6536

I bought the picture of The Colosseum for my friends and carted it all over Rome and into Turkey before leaving it behind somewhere!

I also visited the Altare della Patria, also known as the National Monument to Victor Emmanuel II.

IMG_6591

This thing is HUGE! I mean, everything in Rome is huge but this was crazy – inside I saw some really cool artefacts from Italy’s war efforts.

IMG_6554
First fixie perhaps?

IMG_6552

 

The next morning I headed straight to the Pantheon.

IMG_6610

 

 

IMG_6616

I was blown away by this building. It was definitely one of my favourite sites in Rome.

I had read that “Rome’s Best Coffee” was situated right near The Pantheon so I had to stop in. The coffee was pretty good, typically Italian.

IMG_6625

The latte art, however!

IMG_6626

I sampled some more gelati on my way to Vatican City…

IMG_6641

 

IMG_6639

 

I then hung out in Campo de’ Fiori and snacked on some truffle bruschetta and an awesome salad.

IMG_6644

IMG_6643

Aside from the creepy guy on the first night I really enjoyed the sites of Rome. It is like walking around a museum and everything is MASSIVE! It was awesome seeing all these places you hear about in school and university.

IMG_6517

 

I did feel hassled in Rome though – I think the blonde hair drew attention which was a shame. I definitely would stay in another area next time and I think I would enjoy it heaps more walking around having someone to share it with!

After 3 days of walking in Rome it was time for Turkey! YEW! Meeting up with family sailing on The Med. Hells yeah!

Speak soon!

Brickie.

 

2 thoughts on “Roughed up in Roma.

  1. Sorry to hear you got hassled. The perils of the lone traveller I guess but it’s a shame it is that way. But I’m glad you managed to extract yourself from handsy waiter guy. Gross!

    1. Thanks Penny! I was lucky it didn’t turn out worse but that was the only dodgy thing that happened to me all trip so I reckon I’m pretty lucky :)

      *Blog: **www.brickiepedia.wordpress.com* *Tweet: @brickiepedia* *Instagram: @brickiepedia*

      On Tue, Jul 23, 2013 at 7:28 AM, brickiepedia

Leave a Reply

