Pumpkin Chilli Chocolate Pancakes + Campbell.

He’s here!!!

Campbell Lea Canty.
Campbell Lea Canty.

A beautiful baby boy – Campbell Lea Canty.

Born on Tuesday 28 May at 11.40pm weighing in at a whopping 8pound 9… if you know my sister you’ll know this is a mega effort!

He is perfect. 10 little fingers and 10 little toes and a mop of blonde hair! Yes – the blondies are representing!

I am such a proud Aunty and sister – both of my sisters have now brought little human beings into the world. Personally, I don’t know if anything can beat that achievement. It’s amazing.

As I’ve written previously, we come from a family of girls – mum has 4 sisters and I have 4 sisters, but it looks like the tables are turning.

We now have 3 little boys and our precious angel Ava watching over them all.

To Mel and Lau – it brings tears to my eyes when I think about the amazing efforts you’ve both been through. I look at you both and gush with a sense of pride and I am filled with joy. I watch you both with your gorgeous babies and remark at how wonderfully motherhood suits you both. I am so lucky to have you as my sisters.

My beautiful and amazingly clever sisters.
My beautiful and amazingly clever sisters.

Lausy, watching you yesterday with Campbell was such a delight. You’re a pro – who knew me begging you to play with my Baby Born with me would have been so handy!!

Little Campbell is named after our late Grandad. Robert Campbell McCallum.

What a man – cheeky, full of love and straight shooter.

I’ll never forget when my dad was going through Grandad’s garage after he had passed away and dad found a tin filled with some of Grandad’s most precious things – a wedding invitation and a newspaper cutout of the announcement of his engagement to Grandma. That was a special moment.

Lea is the shared middle name of the Canty boys (Steve and Nathan) – and with a Poppy like Steveo, Uncle like Daz and a Daddy like Nay, Campbell’s in good hands.

IMG_5222

Now onto the god damn food Brickie!

Delicious fluffy pancakes filled with chocolate and pumpkin with a touch of chilli. Absolute perfection!

IMG_5175

The bits and pieces

1/4 C flour (I used chickpea)

2 heaped tbsp pumpkin puree

1 tbsp cocoa powder

3-4 tbsp milk of choice

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp bi-carb soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cayenne pepper (or chilli powder)

1 tbsp psyllium husk

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1/2 banana, chopped

Chocolate Chilli Sauce

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1-2 tbsp boiling water

IMG_5177

In a small mixing bowl add milk and apple cider vinegar. Let stand for 5 minutes while you get the other ingredients sorted.

In a separate bowl, mix together cocoa powder, bi-carb, baking soda, flour and cayenne pepper.

Add pumpkin puree, vanilla and psyllium husk to the milk mix. Add dry mix to wet and stir well – careful not to over mix!

In a large frypan, heat oil over medium heat and spoon out 4 tablespoons of mixture. Divide the remaining mixture into these 4 pancakes.

Cook over medium heat for 6-8 minutes before flipping and cooking for another 6-8 minutes.

Vegan pancakes take a little longer to cook I have found – so you may want to turn the heat down a little.

To make the chocolate chilli sauce, mix ingredients in a small bowl until well combined. Yep, it’s that easy!

Remove pancakes from heat and layer with chocolate sauce and banana.
Pancakes!

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chilli Chocolate Pancakes + Campbell.

  1. Congratulations to your sister, you and the rest of your family. 8 pound 9 is good going for anyone!! What a gorgeous baby. (Feels a little bit broody for a ‘proper’ baby as mine approaches 3 which is definitely no longer a baby). The pancakes look pretty good too!

  2. He really is just the most beautiful baby. He’s going to bring so much joy to their lives and be a great little brother for Lila as well.

  3. Congrats to you, and moreso your sis. I do love how you put ‘milk of choice’ on your recipes for us hippy vegans. When I saw the title of the recipe I was going to be pissed if these were not me suitable.

    1. Haha they’re good ones Tim and milk of choice for me now is plant based too!! Just trying to please everyone!! Let me know if you try them :) they’re pretty bloody good! Just turn the heat down and cook them a little longer!

Leave a Reply

