Vegan Nachos.

IMG_4887

Still no baby…

My poor sissy – I cannot even begin to imagine how over it she must be feeling. I daresay she is sick of all of our family texting her every morning and night asking how she’s feeling or whether or not the baby has decided to make an appearance.

We are all just so excited! I think my other sister is especially busting as it will be her first time being an Aunty – not the mumma! Being an Aunty is seriously THE best. I love my boys to death, and love this bubba in my sisters belly just as much. I can’t wait to share that love with both of my sisters!

I keep getting flashes of intense panic/worry for my sissy though – the idea of her being in pain makes me quite emotional! I think with Mel’s pregnancies I was definitely a lot little less mature and I also think I have this protective streak for Lausy… she’s just the kindest and sweetest person and I don’t want her to be in pain! Fingers crossed the baby just walks out…

In other news, I checked my results and they got adjusted! YEW! I actually came 6th in my age and 11th female and 71st overall.

Results!

Another exciting piece of news in the world of Brickiepedia – the lovely people from the WFP contacted me again to see if not only would I like to be featured in the newsletter next week (which you can sign up for here —–> CLICK ME) but they’re also thinking of doing a story on their website about me. I am over the moon – so they sent through 8 questions which I have been writing responses for…

Email from WFP

So we will see where this leads! But I have to thank you all again, because without your support and generosity NONE of this would have been possible.

Thank you.

On to the recipe Brickie! This is a special one – I feel like I really out did myself with this one. It’s a great one for both carnivores and herbivores I really hope you try it!

I have broken it down into sections  to hopefully make it a bit more user friendly – let me know what you think!

Nachos!Serves two.

The bits and pieces

Sweet potato chips

1 piece sweet potato, 10cm long sliced finely (.5cm roughly)

1 tbsp cumin seeds

salt and pepper, to taste

oil of choice

Nacho filling

1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 can organic tomatoes, diced or whole (whatever you prefer!)

1 tbsp organic tomato paste

1/2 small red capsicum, diced

4 tbsp mexican chilli powder (make sure you look for one with no added sugar – a lot of them have LOADS of sugar WTF?!)

2 tbsp hot paprika

Salsa

1/2 avocado, diced

1 C corn

1 large handful coriander, chopped

juice of 1/2 lime

1/2 small red cap, chopped

1 small spanish onion, chopped

salt and pepper, to taste

Vegan “cheese” sauce

2 tbsp tahini, hulled is best for this one!

1-2 tbsp boiling water

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp white miso paste

Pre heat oven to 175ºC. In a medium saucepan with a steaming tray bring water to boil and steam sweet potato for 5 minutes.

Remove from steamer and place on an oven tray with cumin, salt and pepper and drizzle with oil. Pop in the oven for 10-15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small saucepan over medium – high heat, add all the ingredients from the filling list and stir constantly for about 5 minutes. When the mixture begins to boil turn the heat down to low – stirring every now and then.

While this is all happening, throw together the ingredients from the salsa mix in a small bowl. Mix well to coat everything and set aside.

In a small bowl add the tahini for the vegan “cheese” together with the white miso, apple cider vinegar and boiling water. Stir well until the mixture is smooth. You may want to add a touch more water – you want it to be thin enough to drizzle over the top of the nachos.

When sweet potatoes are cooked remove from oven and divide into two plates. Placing the sweet potato on the plates as you would corn chips for regular nachos.

Spoon 2-3 tbsp of the nacho filling on to each plate, add a dollop of the salsa mix and drizzle over the vegan “cheese”.

Top with extra coriander and a slice of lime if desired.

IMG_4888

Enjoy!

PS. It’s my 2nd anniversary with WordPress today – wonder if they’ll get me flowers?!

Leave a Reply

