Breakfast Cake.

IMG_4630

$1706 raised for the UN World Food Programme… I think we all deserve cake for breakfast.

Thank you to EVERYONE who donated or even just shared my fundraising page – together we raised a massive $1706 to go towards School Meals – this is HUGE and will help feed over 6000 children as well as encouraging families to send children to school to receive not only a nutritionally balanced meal but also, an education.

I cannot express my gratitude enough – the response was overwhelming.

Gorgeous day in Manly
Gorgeous day in Manly

I started Sunday morning with this beautiful view – I seem to be making a habit for accidentally signing up for “fun runs” which turn into bloody cross country courses though! Woah!

The run started at Manly foreshore and then headed up into the national park – after a tough first 5km filled with hills and more stairs!!! I managed to pull it together and cruise on home in 48 minutes and 5 seconds. I came 12th out of 346 females and 7th in my age group…

Missed the 45 minute mark, but my goal is to now smash that in Mudgee come August.

Plus, I beat Tony Abbott by 6 minutes so I’m happy with that!

More importantly, we absolutely annihilated the fund-raising goal.

Done and dusted.
Done and dusted.

…And that my friends is why we deserve cake for breakfast…!

It’s actually just baked chocolate oatmeal (but don’t tell anyone).

IMG_4619

The bits and pieces

1/2 C oats

1 – 1 1/2 C liquid of choice

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

1 tbsp cocoa

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1 tbsp psyllium husk

1 organic free range eggy (omit for vegan)

1 banana, mashed

1 tbsp peanut butter, for serving

shredded coconut for garnish

Pre-heat oven to 150ºC and lightly grease 2 small ramekins or a cute little spring form like the one I managed to get my hands on!

In a small mixing bowl, add egg and whisk lightly. Next, add the remaining ingredients except for the peanut butter and coconut and mix well.

Spoon mixture into prepared tin and bake for about 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and top with peanut butter and coconut.

IMG_4629Enjoy this cake – you earned it!

6 thoughts on “Breakfast Cake.

  1. Congratulations on doing a wonderful job with the fund raiser. You shove thuld be proud
    I love the idea of a chocolate cake for breakfast. I will make this for the kids and see how their rection will be when they find out it is oatmeal :)

Leave a Reply

