Super Smoothie.

 

This straw is totally for show.
This straw is totally for show.

 

One sleeeeeeeeeeeep!

One sleep until my race and one sleep until the baby is due!!!

As much as I want to meet this gorgeous bubba, I am quietly hoping all the fun and games don’t begin mid-run.

A massive thank you to everyone who has donated – we have raised over $1500 so far!!

Click here to donate!!

I received this email the other day too – how excitement!

IMG_5022

I’ve not been feeling 100% this week, so in order to try and fight off the flu I have taken to drinking my greens. I’ve made a variation of this smoothie most days and after a week of rest (we’ll call it strategically tapering) I am definitely on the mend.

I added kale to this the first couple of times and then, I went and did something crazy – added broccoli.

Broccoli in my smoothie – say what?! Yep, I know, I’ve lost it now – but hear me out!

One cup of chopped broccoli = 5.7 grams of protein

Yep, that’s right! Along with a lot of other greens – this little guy packs a mighty punch. So – this is what I will be using to fuel my run tomorrow morning.

I’m not gonna lie, there’s definitely still little chunks of broccoli but you can’t taste it! If you’re not into eating your smoothie just omit the broccoli or replace it with another green that will blend better. Kale, baby spinach etc.

Chunky - but tasty trust me!
Chunky – but tasty trust me!

Oh – and food processing 101…

Put the blade in and have everything together before you start adding ingredients. Learnt that one the hard way…

The bits and pieces

2 overripe bananas, frozen

1 tbsp cocoa

1 tbsp mesquite powder (optional)

handful broccoli, chopped

1/4 avocado (seriously, don’t skip this you can’t taste it)

1 C coconut water

3 dates

1 tbsp peanut (or other nut/seed) butter

 

Whack everything in a food processor and process until smooth.

IMG_5050

Enjoy! I may have already eaten most of this… looks like I will be making another one for tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

