Raw Chocolate Brownie.

IMG_4951

Sometimes I think I like to punish myself – by making ridiculously delicious things and then attempting not to eat them all in one sitting.

Yeah, this is probably the silliest thing I’ve done in a while… made these babies while I was home alone. FAIL!

 Somebody please come over and take these away from me…

Now before I spill the recipe – which you MUST make I’d like to introduce my guest writer, Amanda :)

My best friend and absolute blessing – Amanda is the most compassionate and kind person I know and she also has a blog Compassion Pop which you can check out here —–> CLICK ME!

As most of you know (from my incessant Facebook spamming), my 10K fun run in Manly is next Sunday and I am raising funds for the UN World Food Programme —– I have had an OVERWHELMING response and I cannot express my gratitude enough. You can still donate CLICK ME!!

 

Anyways, enough of my rambling – I’ll let Mandz go into more detail, she is so much more articulate than me – Love you Mandz xx

Hi fellow Brickiepedia lovers!

I’m so excited to be doing this guest post on my absolute favourite blog Brickiepedia for several reasons, and they all relate to how awesome Brickie is, and the totally rad fundraising that she is undertaking.

As you have probably seen, Brooke will be running the Manly Fun Run on May 19 to raise money for the World Food Programme. It’s amazing to see how much some of you have given already. You rock!

Raising money for this cause came about after a conversation we had on global hunger and the state of the world food system. So in light of this conversation, here is some more detail on the current state of the world food system and what else you can do right here at home to fix it.

The World Food System – It’s making all of us sick

Although food is an essential part of our survival and eating is an action that we undertake at least three times a day, here in Australia we often take the process of producing, distributing and obtaining food for granted. For example, think about the last meal you ate – Who grew the food? How was it grown? What agricultural processes were used? How was it transported? What conditions were faced by the farmer in producing the food? And what impact did the production of that food have on the surrounding environment?

Most of us have become totally disconnected from this most vital process for survival. And the truth is the global food system is broken and it is making all of us sick. In the developing world there are 870 million undernourished people, and hunger and malnutrition is the number one risk to health — greater than AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This is despite the fact that enough food is actually produced to feed the world! And on the other side of the coin, here in the developed world we have a pandemic of 400 million obese and diabetic people.

A healthy food system should: feed all people well, look after all food producers, and nurture the land, water and ecosystems from which food is produced. Unfortunately the current system is not meeting any of these requirements.

While the current corporate dominated globalised food system, premised on the commodification of food, is supposedly based on the ‘efficiency’ of a global market system, the negative impacts of this broken system are vast and growing quickly:

  • The rate of suicide amongst male farmers and agricultural workers is more than double that of the urban employed population.
  • The industrialised and globalised agriculture and food system creates as much as 57% of total global greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Industrialised agriculture (via deforestation and land use change) is a major factor in the mass extinction of other species.
  • Animal welfare standards are barely existent in factory farms.
  • Resources such as soil, water, phosphate and cheap, readily accessible oil, on which the industrial food and agriculture system depends, are in sharp decline.
  • As much as half of all food produced is wasted.

It is imperative for all of our health (including that of the planet) that we move to a sustainable and health-promoting food system immediately.

The good news is that each of us can make a difference – at least three times a day.

By engaging in the process of understanding our food and its journey to us, we have the power to change this broken system. By asking the questions I posed at the start, you can make better food choices – for example:

  • By buying produce from your local farmers’ market you can contribute to the localisation of agriculture and better conditions for farmers
  • By consuming less (or no!) meat and animal products you can contribute to increasing the welfare of animals and reducing greenhouse gas emissions
  • By eating more whole foods and less processed food you can reduce the negative environmental impacts of producing food and increase your own health
  • and of course, by giving generously to organisations such as the World Food Programme(!) you can assist people in the developing world obtain enough food and build livelihoods.

Additionally, continuing to follow and try Brickie’s amazing whole-food, organic, vegetarian and vegan recipes is a wonderfully delicious way to contribute!

To end, here are some beautiful words of wisdom from Costa Giorgiadis:

“Now is the time to repurpose and refocus as a community. Now is the time to build an economy where growth is valued in annual soil depth and fertility that in turn promotes a health industry, not based on sickness but on living food. Let’s cover the fences and boundaries of a divided world with edible vines and plants that produce new visions and innovations worthy of the potential we have around us. Creativity to drive a world fuelled on regenerative and renewable sources requires new industries, new thinking and less baggage from a world paradigm whose time is passed.”

Peace. Xx

 

 

 

I told you Mandz would explain it better than I ever could!

 

Without further ado – I present The Raw Chocolate Brownie – adapted from the  “my new roots” recipe which you can check out in my blog roll! :)

IMG_4955

The bits and pieces

2 C whole walnuts

1 C walnuts, roughly chopped

2 ½ cups dates, pitted PLEASE buy ones without sulphur added!

1 cup cocoa

Dash of sea salt

boiling water to soak dates

This close up is necessary!
This close up is necessary!

Place dates in a large bowl with just enough boiling water to cover them. Leave to soak while continuing on with the following:

Place the 2 cups of whole walnuts in the food processor and process until the nuts are finely ground.

Add cocoa and salt – blend again.

Add the dates – a few at a time with a touch of the soaking water. You want to end up with a mix that is smooth, sticky and holds together well!

You want it to look like this!
You want it to look like this!

Remove mixture and place in a large bowl with the remaining chopped walnuts. Mix well – yes, it will be sticky!

IMG_4932

Press into a cake tin lined with baking paper – grab another piece of baking paper and place over the top of the brownie mix. Using the back of a spoon, smooth out until even.

Place in the freezer for about 20 minutes before cutting. Top with more cocoa if you wish.

Warning: I do not want to hear your complaints that you ate the whole lot in one go!

IMG_4958

Enjoy!

19 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Brownie.

  1. I just made this- oh my god, it’s so good. I’ll be sharing it on my blog sometime in the near future! Also, you’re completely right, I really struggled to keep myself from eating most of it in one go haha.

  2. Reblogged this on Honk If You're Vegan and commented:
    I’ve got a serious sweet tooth, but on the plant-based diet I’m on I don’t eat sugar anymore (well – not often anyway). I still have to satisfy my sweet cravings, however; so I’m always on the lookout for healthy, sugar-free desserts. This Raw Chocolate Brownie caught my eye because it looks SO delish and it’s sugar-free and really healthy. I’m gonna make these this weekend!

  3. Love this recipe!! It’s healthy and gluten-free too! Thanks for sharing. :) I found you via Celeste from “Honk If You’re Vegan”, and just checked our your blog, and love all your baked goodies! I’m officially your follower, looking forward to more yummy recipes/posts! :)

Leave a Reply

