Cauliflower, Kale, Asparagus and Cannellini Bean Mess.

Dished!

It started with a plastic cup…

This plastic cup –

LIttle plastic cup of doom.
LIttle plastic cup of doom.

$10 bottomless cups of red or white cask wine at the local AFL game, yep that’s a good life choice right there!

I don’t really think it needs too much explanation of how my night went – it ended with a very sore head and bloodshot eyes for The Brick on Sunday…

Oh and a google search…

IMG_4858Struggle. Street.

Cut to Tuesday – I’m in desperate need of some veggies…

This little power bowl sorted me right out filled with kale, asparagus, broccoli and cauliflower then smothered with a tangy tahini sauce. Yum!

This little guy is super easy to make – it made enough for my dinner and left overs for lunch – or would serve 2-3 peeps for dinner.

Here’s to better life decisions this weekend… or just as much fun!

The bits and pieces

4 garlic cloves, crushed

3 shallots, finely chopped

1/2 brown onion, finely chopped

1 C cauliflower, steamed

1 C broccoli, steamed

6 asparagus spears, chopped

handful kale, roughly chopped

1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

3 tbs tahini

juice of 1/2 lemon and zest

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

S & P, to taste

NOMS!

In a large fry pan, heat oil over medium to high heat. Add garlic, shallots and onion and cook for about 5 minute until softened.

Add asparagus, cauliflower, broccoli and beans to the pan – stirring constantly.

Pour in lemon and zest, along with the apple cider vinegar and turn heat down to low. Next, add tahini and season with salt and pepper to taste.

FInally, turn heat off and add in kale and stir well ensuring everything is coated in tahini sauce.

Serve and top with pepitas if desired.

YUM!

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Cauliflower, Kale, Asparagus and Cannellini Bean Mess.

  1. I should be going to bed, but I’m still on the interwebs, and your food is making me really hungry! Also, I’d just like to say smugly that I’ve not had a proper hangover in over 3 years. Because first I was pregnant, and then I had a baby and no sleep, and now I have a toddler who has boundless energy. I’d actually quite like a hangover but I’m too scared of them in current circurmstances. My liver, however, is thankful. What did you watch? My hangover movie used to be Heathers. Nothing like a bit of 80s unlikely high school murderousness to ease the pain. :-D

    1. Haha oooooh lucky you. You’re not missing out that’s for sure! I’ve been pretty good of late stopping at about 3 wines! I know what you mean about toddlers though, I’ve got two nephews who don’t care what you’ve been up to the night before!!
      I downloaded some Simpsons and watched Definitely, Maybe. Such a sucker for chick flicks when I’m hungover!!

  2. Hungover movies are a very personal preference. I used to watch Anchorman every time I was hungover. So I saw that every weekend for a couple of years straight at one point.

    1. Hahahaha aren’t they?! I tried watching inglorious basterds and had to call it quits – my brain wasn’t coping. Another favourite is Talledega Nights!

      1. Oh god, Inglorious Basterds, whilst a great movie, is an absolutely terrible hungover choice. You need something soothing, familiar and easy to doze in and out of.

        I think we are on to something with the Will Ferrell thing.

Leave a Reply

