Cashew Cream and Healthy Butterscotch Sauce.

I had the pleasure of running in the Oatley Park Fun Run this morning with my best friend – self high fives all round! I cannot express in words how amazing Mandz is… no matter what I wrote, it just wouldn’t do her kindness, compassion and generosity justice. I am so lucky I have people like her in my life – and SUPER glad we got to do this together!

Pre-race!!
Pre-race!!

I am waiting for the official results to be posted but I think my time was around 21:40, using my watch. I did collapse just after the finish then realised I hadn’t stopped my watch! So, I may have gotten under 21:40 – time will tell!

So I am on track for my 10K… you can still donate —-> CLICK HERE :)

MASSIVE THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO HAS DONATED SO FAR – I have put the goal up to $750 due to such a great response already!!

Hurry up Brickie – onto the recipes already dammit!

But before I do… (yep, here I go again!) this post is dedicated to my cousin Lyndell who had her 21st last night. Lyndell set me a challenge of making a healthy recipe that tasted like butterscotch – jesus christ Lyndell way to throw down the gauntlet!!

But, me being the competitive person I am, was totally up for it. I love a good challenge… I was thinking about this one for ages – writing down combinations of flavours then it came to me… and it’s ridiculously easy.

So dearest Lyndell, Happy Birthday beautiful girl I hope you enjoy this!

Cashew cream is a great alternative to normal cream and can be used for both sweet and savoury dishes. It can replace sour cream too! Boo Yeah! If you want it sweet – just add some vanilla extract to the mix. I left this in the fridge overnight and it thickened up nicely!

Yep, nice and thick!
Yep, nice and thick!

The butterscotch sauce could be whacked into a smoothie or drizzled over some pancakes! I invested in some lucuma for this recipe, but if you don’t want to outlay for it (it is exxy – google it, it’s some amazing superfood) you can omit. I tasted it before and after and I actually think I preferred it without – but the added health benefits are pretty hard to argue with!

Ingredients!

The bits and pieces

Cashew Cream

1 C cashews, raw

water

juice of half a lemon

In an airtight container, cover cashews with water and leave in the fridge for at least 6 hours (overnight if you’re organised).

Drain cashews and pop into blender. Add lemon and cover with enough water – you want it to be about 1cm higher than the cashew level.

BLEND! Until it is nice and fluffy.

Place in an airtight container and store in the fridge.

Yep, I am now one of those hipsters who serves stuff in jars.
Yep, I am now one of those hipsters who serves stuff in jars.

Healthy Butterscotch Sauce

1/2 C cashew cream

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1 overripe banana, cold

1 tsp lucuma

2 ice cubes

IMG_4720

In a blender, add all ingredients. BLEND!

Add to smoothies or drizzle over pancakes…

I liked this one so much that I may or may not have tried to scrape the remains out of the blender.

IMG_4717

 

Store in the fridge in an airtight container – if it even lasts that long!

Enjoy!

Jarred!

Leave a Reply

