Brickiepedia’s ANZAC Biscuits.

Pre-baked

Two posts in two days – holy shitballs Batman. This can mean only one thing – Public Holiday.

ANZAC Day means a myriad things for people. There have been many different experiences throughout the wars and views both for and against war – I’m not even going to go there. For some, it is a day of reflection, remembrance and for others, an excuse to get shit faced…

Without going into too much detail or getting on a rant – I tend to avoid pubs and clubs on this day, but rather, will find somewhere quiet to enjoy a schooner of Old for my Grandad. Take a minute to reflect on his life and carry on…

So Slange Va Grandad!

In other news – My gorgeous friends Amanda and Pat are visiting this weekend and I have managed to convince Mandz it’s a good idea to come in the Oatley Park Fun Run with me on Sunday – I am using this as a time trial for the 10K coming up. It’s a 5K and it’s apparently nice and flat so I would LOVE to well and truly crack the 22minute mark. I’ll be sure to keep you informed of how I go – no doubt I’ll be splattering all over Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

These ANZAC biscuits are my take on the traditional version – purists, avert your eyes.

These babies are gluten-free, sugar free and dairy free. Oh as well as nut free – YEW! And they actually taste nice. DOUBLE YEW!

Baked.

The bits and pieces

2 C rolled oats

1/2 – 3/4 C flaxseed

1/2 C sunflower seeds

2 C rice malt syrup

1 tsp salt

1 C tahini, hulled

 

Pre-heat oven to 175ºC and line a baking tray with baking paper and grease well.

In a large mixing bowl, add all of the ingredients and mix well. It will be sticky.

Roll into small balls (ha!) and press out flat on prepared tray. Pop in the oven for about 10 minutes.

Remove and let cool for a few minutes before digging in.

IMG_4605

Enjoy – and lest we forget.

2 thoughts on “Brickiepedia’s ANZAC Biscuits.

Leave a Reply

