Pancakes with Chocolate Ganache.

Another marvellous morning, another bangin’ breakfast…

North Wollongong at its finest.
North Wollongong at its finest.

This morning I woke up thinking it was bright – looked at my phone it was 6.10am. I hadn’t set my alarm. Whoops! Luckily, the only real reason I get up early is to make something delicious for breakfast…

So, what do you do when you’re running late? Make pancakes, OF COURSE!

I would also like to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who has donated to the World Food Programme so far – I am honestly so thankful for you helping me support this great cause. If you missed it – check out my post —-> CLICK HERE and you can still donate too!

In fact, because I had such an overwhelming response I bumped up my goal to $750 – one of my friends Greg, who by the way donated a whopping $100 (!!) suggested the more money I get the faster I have to run… yeah, not really sure about that one Geggy!

Huge shout-outs to everyone else too – Lukey, Lisey, Bernie, Russ Dawg, Lisa S, Lyndell, Ash and My Mumma! Also a big thank you to Swell Coffee for their generous donation. These guys taught me everything I know about coffee!

At the start of the year I decided to cut down on sugar, in particular refined sugar. It’s the new thing everyone is apparently doing – so I thought I’d get on board. But in all seriousness, I had issues with sugar ESPECIALLY chocolate.

I was that kid you could find at the party firmly planted next to the lolly bowl with a pile of chocolate wrappers under my feet. Once I started, I found it almost impossible to stop. I couldn’t have just one or two pieces of chocolate or a few lollies. I was never really satisfied. So I quit!

Now don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy a good dessert – like this one that Lise, Osc and I had the other night. You cannot say no to sticky date! But, I am finding it easier to say no or stop at just a little bit of chocolate.

STICKY DATE!!

I’m really enjoying the challenge of trying to create healthier baked goods and desserts too – there have definitely been some failures!! Like this one time I tried to make a sugar free carrot cake with stevia – OH MY GOD. It was like diet coke in a cake.

Yeah, that one didn’t make the blog!

Luckily though, this one’s a winner so please do try it. Even if you’re not living the sugar free life – I know you’ll still enjoy this! It’s dessert for breakfast people!

Topped with banana and an ooey, gooey ganache… need I say more?!

Money Shot!
Money Shot!

The bits and pieces

1/4 C buckwheat flour

4 tbsp milk of choice

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 organic free range eggy (omit for vegan version and replace with 1tbsp chia seeds+ 3 tbsp water)

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp psyllium husk

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

For the ganache

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

2 tbsp boiling water

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 tbsp peanut butter

1/2 banana, sliced – to serve

shredded coconut, for garnish

Yum!

In a mixing bowl add milk and vinegar and leave sit for 5 minutes.

Add egg, rice malt syrup, vanilla and cinnamon. Combine well.

Add flour to wet mix and psyllium husks. Stir until combined – ensuring not to over mix! You don’t want your pancakes to be tough!!

Heat frypan over medium – high heat and add coconut oil. Distribute 5 even heapings of mix in pan and cook for 5 minutes before flipping. Cook for another 3-4 minutes.

While these are cooking add ingredients for ganache into a small bowl and mix well.

Drizzle with pancakes with ganache.

Serve with slices of banana and shredded coconut.

Someone took a sip of my coffee...
Someone took a sip of my coffee…

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

