Chai Spiced Oatmeal with Stewed Rhubarb.

Served!

I tried Bikram Yoga the other week. With all my running and strength training I thought I needed to start scheduling a good stretching session!

I’ve also needed to schedule some chill-the-hell-out time too! My sleep patterns decided to get all out of whack a few weeks ago, so I have been sleeping on our lounge for the most part (lucky our lounge is freaking amazing!) and feeling a bit anxious at times.

There are definitely still times when I feel a rush of anxiety just come at me from nowhere – usually it will pass as quickly as it appears because I let it come and accept that while it is there, it may be annoying but it really isn’t anything that deserves much of my energy. However, the other day after spending a little too much time whole long weekend with myself, I had a wave of anxiety which has stuck with me longer than usual. The reason for this is that it is the first time in ages that I have actually been scared of the anxious feeling – and that’s what it feeds off… ROOKIE ERROR!

Luckily though, I know that it will never be as bad as when I had no idea what was going on and I know what I need to do. Rather than avoid those situations that make my anxiety seem worse – I know the best thing I can do is keep on truckin’ and putting myself in those situations and carry on as best as possible. It will pass – it always does.

Bikram was a good way to put myself in one of those situations and remind myself that nothing bad happens when I feel anxious. I’m in no more danger than when I am in a non-anxious state.

I had images of me walking into this hot box, getting about 10 minutes into the class and freaking out feeling suffocated and trapped. Then I’d leg it the hell out of there…!

As I walked in with one of my friends, palms nice and clammy – (how delicious) I was surprised at how calm I felt once in the room. Within 5 minutes of the class starting I was dripping in sweat, had stripped my top off and was attempting to bend my body in all sorts of weird and wonderful positions. I’m pretty sure this is the reason I didn’t even notice the heat and my anxiety was no where to be seen. YEW!

I’ve had a really lovely response from my PB+J post. The fact that people have opened up to me about their experiences from me writing about mine is fantastic – that’s exactly what I wanted! People to start talking about this – it’s ok to feel this way at times. There is nothing wrong with you – you just have something going on that you need to spend a little time dealing with.

My best advice for you is to stop being so hard on yourself. Take the time you need, wrap yourself up in cotton wool for a while and when you’re ready start challenging those fears! It’s important to keep putting yourself in those hard situations whatever it may be (not necessarily a steaming hot room with half naked people!), and one day they won’t be so hard anymore.

If there’s one thing I can promise you, it is that.

Oh – and keep your chin up. You’re doing alright!

Oh that’s right – I post recipes on this blog, right… yes! I do recall mentioning something about Chai Spiced Oatmeal with Stewed Rhubarb….

I went to yoga again this morning with Lise – definitely a bit harder than the first time I went. Pretty sure that had to do with the couple of bottles of red wine we consumed the night before… just a guess though.

I refuelled with this bowl of goodness.

I picked this up at a local cafe – such a score with just the smallest touch of honey!

The bits and pieces

1/2 C oats

1 1/2 C liquid of your choice (milk, water, almond milk etc.)

1/2 green apple, chopped into 1cm(ish) pieces

1/2 banana, mashed

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

1 organic free-range egg (omit if vegan)

1 tbsp psyllium husk

1 chai tea bag

1 tbsp rice malt syrup if you like your oats a little sweeter (I didn’t add this but my sweet tooth is getting pretty tame these days!!)

1 tbsp tahini (or nut butter of choice – would also be yummy with a dollop of Greek yoghurt)

1 tbsp stewed rhubarb (or remaining apple if you can’t get your hands on any)

shredded coconut to garnish

Remember kids - ewe are special!
Remember kids – ewe are special!

In a saucepan, pop in your oats, banana, water and tea bag. You can loop the tea bag around the handle of the saucepan to make it a little easier.

Add apple and banana to the saucepan, along with vanilla and cinnamon and bring to the boil. Stirring constantly.

Turn the heat down to medium and continue to stir until the oats soften, along with the apple.

Pop your eggy in and turn the heat down to low. Add psyllium husk and stir in well.

Remove from heat after the egg has cooked (about 1 minute) and take out tea bag before serving!!

Top with banana slices, tahini (or Greek yoghurt), and a dollop of stewed rhubarb. Sprinkle with shredded coconut.

Showing that bowl (and anxiety) who's boss.
Showing that bowl (and anxiety) who’s boss.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chai Spiced Oatmeal with Stewed Rhubarb.

  1. I made a baked oatmeal with rhubarb a while ago that was really good, but I imagine it would taste way better with chai! For some reason it never occurred to me that chai spiced oatmeal could exist. Definitely going to try this out sometime this week! Thanks for checking out Life Is Like A Dumpling :)

Leave a Reply

