Single Girl Buys a Whole Pumpkin – Part 3

DONATE HERE!!!!

As I mentioned in my previous posts – I don’t like wasting food. Which is exactly how this three part series came about, I bought a whole pumpkin and refused to let any of it go to waste or make a million litres of pumpkin soup.

I’ve also posted about my struggles in the past with food and anxiety in a previous post, if you missed it and want to get to know me a little better, click here!

I guess this third and final instalment on me taking on this chunk-o-pumpk links these together nicely…

When I was in the throes of my eating disorder I would choose to not eat at all or severely restrict my intake – oh what a luxury to even make those ridiculous choices!

One of the best things about me getting into running has been the revival of my love for food and my appetite keeps growing and growing.

But I am lucky –

Not only do I have the opportunity to develop and explore interests of my choosing such as running, baking and blogging, I have access to clean water and a variety of foods which allow me to nourish and fuel my body.

Now, the only thing I did for this privilege was to be born!

Seriously though, pure luck had me born into a family in a country without the worries or stresses that are experienced day to day by people all over the world concerning their survival. When their next meal will be, if at all and whether or not they will be able to provide for themselves and their family.

I feel then, that my responsibility lies in attempting to help others who haven’t been as lucky.

So using this blog, and my ability to run (not much effort really!)

I’ve set a goal of raising $500 for the World Food Programme…

…and I have nominated my funds to go towards School Meals.

Now 10K is not the hardest or longest run out there. So! To keep things interesting – I’ve also set myself a personal challenge to run the 10K in 45minutes – so the pressures on!

I’ll train hard – and if you can give what you can that’d be awesome!! Anything helps!

I’ll give you a quick rundown but please head over to The World Food Programme website to check out everything that they do (because they do a lot!) Plus, there are some FREE games which contribute donations to communities in their programmes– it doesn’t get much easier than that!

The World Food Programme School Meals is a multifaceted program. In countries where school attendance is low, the promise of at least 1 nutritional meal per day helps boost enrolments providing children with access to both stable nutrition sources as well as education (particularly girls) who might otherwise be required to stay at home and care for their siblings.

This incentive can be used to effectively tackle hunger, nutrition, education, gender inequality and broader development issues.

It spins me out that people are suffering and DYING all over the world from malnutrition and starvation while those in The West are having more than their fair share! So let’s all do a little good…

So PLEASE help my cause by clicking here or here orrrrr maybe even here!!!

…And I’ll get onto the GODDAMN recipe already……!

I’ve never tried making my own gnocchi, until now. I’ve definitely been intimidated by it, to be honest with you!

Gnocchi can be amazing, if it’s done well – but bad gnocchi, well, it’s just the worst! I think it’s got to do with the fact that you have nothing to hide behind if you’ve got tough, gluggy gnocchi. It’s usually paired with a simple sauce – so if you screw it up, that’s it!

I URGE YOU to use good quality ingredients for this – full fat butter, a pungent chunk of parmesan and a fresh organic eggy – it’ll make it that much better!

As I was saying...
As I was saying…

I needed to work out a recipe that was simple and foolproof… I also needed to use up my remaining pumpkin as well as make more of an impact in that big bag of chickpea flour I had purchased for my Cannellini Bean Burgers!

This is the third and final instalment in my mission to finish a whole pumpkin – without making a ridiculous amount of pumpkin soup. Don’t get me wrong – I freaking love pumpkin soup… but when you’re cooking for one, that’s a lot of soup.

Plus, I love a good challenge…

Good ingredients!

The bits and pieces

For the pumpkin gnocchi

1 organic free-range egg

1 C pumpkin puree (steam your chunk of pumpk for about 12-15 mins until soft)

1 1/2 C chickpea flour

1/3 C parmesan, grated

1 tbsp sage, ground

1 tbsp nutmeg, freshly grated is best!

salt and pepper

Burnt Butter and Sage Sauce

4 tbsp butter

10 sage leaves

juice of 1/2 lemon

1/4 C parmesan, grated

2 tbsp pine nuts

salt and pepper, to taste

Cooked!

Grab an old tea towel, pop pumpkin puree in it and drain out excess liquid over the sink. Please don’t skip this step – it makes life so much harder than it needs to be!!

In a large mixing bowl, add all ingredients for the gnocchi – less 1/2C chickpea flour.

Mix well and add remaining flour as needed.

Divide dough and roll out into four awesome gnocchi snakes. Press each side down with a fork (or gnocchi board if you’re lucky enough to have one). Cut into inch sized pieces.

Bring a large saucepan of lightly salted water to the boil. Spook prepared gnocchi into saucepan – a few at a time. Cook for 3-4 minutes or until they start floating to the surface. Remove with a slotted spoon and set aside.

You can freeze excess gnocchi at this stage – portion it out into serves and pop it into a container in the freezer for times when you need something quick, tasty and EASY!

In a large fry pan over medium-high heat, melt butter. Once butter starts “frothing”, turn down the heat to medium, adding sage, salt and pepper.

Add gnocchi and coat well with sauce.

Squeeze over lemon juice – continuing to move gnocchi about the pan.

Serve out gnocchi and top with parmesan and pepper according to taste.

Served.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Single Girl Buys a Whole Pumpkin – Part 3

  1. Pingback: Pump Two Balloons
  2. Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

