Single Girl Buys a Whole Pumpkin – Part 2

Pumpkin pie.

pie!

I’ve always been intrigued by pumpkin pie. I just never knew what to expect I guess.

I’d never actually had pumpkin pie before I made this one. I don’t know why – I love pumpkin and I love pie. It’s a no brainer really.

I made this for a Breast Cancer Awareness morning tea that we had at work – it was a hit. I was a little nervous because I was definitely out of my comfort zone with this one. I wasn’t sure if I would get the spice ratios right along with the sweetness, but judging by the empty pie tin – I think I did alright.

Another chunk of the pumpkin went into this one.

Brooke 2 – Pumpkin 0.

baked!

The bits and pieces

For the filling

3 organic free range eggs

2/3 C rice malt syrup

1 1/2 C pumpkin puree

3/4 C cream

1 tbsp cinnamon, ground

1 tbsp ginger, ground

1 tbsp all spice

1 tbsp rum/rum essence (don’t omit this if you don’t have to!)

juice of half a lemon

rind of half a lemon

2-3 tablespoons tapioca starch

1 tsp salt

For the crust

1 3/4 C plain flour

125g butter, chilled

1 egg

1-2 tbsp water, chilled

 

Pre-heat oven to 150°C and grease a large tart case or pie tin.

In a large mixing bowl combine flour and butter and rub together until dough forms to bread crumb consistency.

Add egg and mix with hands. Add water as needed. Dough should really come together now.

On a lightly floured surface roll out dough with a rolling pin (or wine bottle!) flipping every so often so dough doesn’t stick.

You want the dough to be about 1/2 -1 cm thickness.

Carefully place dough into prepared case ensuring edges are smooth. Trim off excess pastry from around the edges.

Blind bake for 8-10minutes. Remove from oven to let cool.

 

Turn oven up to 175°C. If your oven is a bit of a beast – keep it at 150°C.

Cream eggs and syrup in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the rest of the ingredients. If it’s a bit too runny, add extra arrowroot. It should be a custard consistency.

Pour the filling into the prepared pie crust and bake for about 45-55 minutes or until the centre of the pie ‘sets’ (when it starts to pull away from the base a little is a good sign). Using your hand, gently touch the middle it should be slightly wobbly – but only slightly! Remove from the oven and cool completely before putting in fridge to set.

Serve this with whipped cream!

IMG_4386

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Single Girl Buys a Whole Pumpkin – Part 2

Leave a Reply

