Single Girl Buys a Whole Pumpkin – Part 1.

Baked!

I bought a whole pumpkin the other week.

It’s been siting on my bench for a while now, staring me down. I knew once I cut into it – I was making a commitment.

I was determined not to be beaten… I just needed time to figure out what the hell I was going to do with all this pumpkin once I had made that first incision.

Cooking for one at times is difficult. I didn’t want to make a million litres of pumpkin soup – but I didn’t want to waste this beast of a pumpkin either!

One girl – One pumpkin.

Bring on the pumpkin frenzy.

Wasting food is the worst. Don’t get me wrong, I’m definitely guilty of it at times, but I really do try to keep it to an absolute minimum.

So welcome to Part 1 of a 3 part series where Brooke attempts to cook a whole pumpkin (without making a zillion litres of soup!).

Welcome to the world little Pumpkin Loaf! I made a soup the other night full of veggies and lentils and this paired perfectly.

As with all of my recipes, this one is super easy! I’m really excited to share this one with you! I think you could play around HEAPS with the flavours to suit the foods you were pairing it with. This is also great on its own smothered in butter or avocado.

Don’t be afraid to play around with it! If oregano isn’t your thing, leave it out or add something else. Sage would be lovely too. Even a dash or two of onion powder, cumin and coriander would work nicely. If you change it up let me know what you come up with!

This dough is thick and sticky. It should come away from the mixing bowl.

Sliced.

The bits and pieces

2 organic free-range eggs

1 C pumpkin puree (steam pieces of pumpkin for about 10 minutes until nice and soft)

1/2 C milk

2 1/2 C buckwheat flour (use wholemeal SR if you like)

75g butter, melted

1 tbsp hot paprika

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp bi-carb soda

1 tbsp oregano

good pinch of salt and pepper

pepitas to top

 

Pre-heat oven to 175°C. Grease a loaf tin.

In a large mixing bowl, mix wet ingredients.

Add dry ingredients – be careful not to over mix. Add a touch more milk if needed, as I said before the dough should be thick and sticky.

Pour loaf mixture into prepared tray and sprinkle with pepitas.

Turn oven down to 150°C. Cover with foil and bake for 35-40 minutes, checking at 20 minutes.

Remove foil when almost done (around 45 minutes) – perform the skewer test, you want it to be just underdone. Bake for another 5 minutes to brown on top.

Remove and let cool for 5 minutes before turning out.

Balcony hangs.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Single Girl Buys a Whole Pumpkin – Part 1.

  1. You’re right! Cooking for one is a challenge. I find that I end up freezing about half of the stuff I make because I’m absolutely incapable of remembering to reduce recipes to change the serving size! haha :-) But it sort of works out because I always have tons of healthy, homemade food on hand when I need it!

    Can’t wait to read what happens with the rest of the pumpkin!

    1. Haha thanks – yeah it can really be a challenge sometimes hey!!! My freezer is full too otherwise you end up eating the same thing for lunch and dinner all week just trying to get through it!

      1. Exactly! I can’t do more than 2 days or so of the same food, no matter how good it is! So the freezer really saves me from wasting stuff – if only I had a bigger one!

  2. That bread looks awesome—and what a cappuccino! I love the idea of buying a big veggie and then making multiple meals out of it. (Kind of like how people buy an entire chicken and use it for several different meals plus make stock out of the bones…not that I do that, since I’m vegetarian, but the thriftiness appeals to me.)

    1. Yeah it is a good concept isn’t it! Plus a freshly cut pumpkin is so much better than one that you get from the store!! Thanks for checking out my blog – this is a GREAT gluten free bread recipe! Toasted and smothered in tahini, yum!!

Leave a Reply

