Raspberry and Coconut Baked Oatmeal.

Sunshine and baked oats.

I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen with my breakfasts – venturing away from my usual bowl of porridge or pancakes.

Not too far though!!

Baked oatmeal is great if you’re short on time in the morning – mix it up, pop it in the oven, jump in the shower and before you know it breakfast is served.

You can alter this recipe to suit your needs and tastes!

Vegan – omit the eggy and use a plant based milk

Nut allergy – omit the peanut butter and use tahini or other seed spread

Dairy allergy – use coconut, almond, rice milk etc.

I used an egg in this recipe as I like to have a filling breakfast that keeps me going until lunch time. It’ll work fine without it. I also like my oats gooey so I added extra liquid (water – could totally use milk!) but if you prefer it to be more “baked” just use about 1 cup of liquid.

Told you I like mine all gooey.
Told you I like mine all gooey.

On to the recipe – I’m starving just writing this!!

The bits and pieces

1/2 C oats

1 organic free-range egg

1/2 banana, mashed

small handful of raspberries

1 tsp coconut essence

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1 C – 1 3/4 C liquid of choice (milk, water)

1 tbsp psyllium husk

1 tbsp rice malt syrup (I didn’t add this but if you like your oats sweeter go for it!)

1 tbsp nut butter of choice (I used peanut butter)

shredded coconut for serving

yum.

Pre-heat oven to 175°C. When I add extra liquid I use two ramekins, I have made this in one though, just with less liquid. Grease oven proof bowl or ramekins.

In a mixing bowl add all ingredients except the shredded coconut and raspberries. Mix well.

Add in raspberries and pour into prepared bowl. Top with slices of remaining banana.

Pop in oven for about 15minutes. Remove when golden on top.

If you want a more solid bake, leave in the oven for an extra 5 minutes.

Top with shredded coconut and extra nut butter if desired!

Served!

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Raspberry and Coconut Baked Oatmeal.

  1. What about if you don’t have coconut essence can I go without it. Maybe add cinnamon instead? Sounds amazing, I didn’t get to make it yesterday but was hoping I could make them in advance and have for brekky tomorrow can that work?

    1. You can definitely omit the coconut essence in this one Bek! Adding some cinnamon would be great.
      You could mix this all up the night before and just pop them in the oven in the morning.
      You could possibly pre-bake them too I would suggest going with the extra liquid option as they might be a bit dry the next day otherwise. And maybe just zap them in the microwave for a couple of minutes in the morning!
      Also, if you decide to pre-bake them cook them for no longer than 15 minutes because they will cook again in the microwave!
      Hope this helps xx

Leave a Reply

