Cannellini Bean Burgers with Tahini Mayonnaise.

I’ve been a bit stressed out the past couple of days – no reason in particular. Just having one of those moments I guess, sitting at my desk I’ve become a little ball of stress! I decided that I would cook myself a dinner that would make me feel good from the insides out…

I got the idea for making vegan burgers from this lovely ladies blog – hopefully she will try these and rate them!

Lemons.

Cannellini beans are one of my favourites. I love the texture and creaminess that they have. Like other common beans they’re low fat, high in fibre and protein and jam-packed with minerals and B vitamins. These little guys contain iron, potassium, folate, magnesium and selenium. As I’ve been feeling a bit stressed out lately, I’m hoping this sorts me out a little – selenium and magnesium are really good if you’re feeling stressed. Consuming these can help alleviate stress and anxiety as well as depression.

Get amongst it!

A lot of my dinner/lunch creations come about through necessity, I have a bunch of ingredients I need to use up… I have had a bunch of coriander sitting in my fridge for a while now and I think if it stays there for much longer it will probably grow legs and move out!

Ladles and Jellyspoons I present to you…

Cannellini bean burgers with vegan tahini mayonnaise!

These are really good, like seriously tasty! I’ve been trying to cater for all types of foodies of late – I don’t necessarily subscribe to a certain way of eating but if I did I’d probably fall somewhere close(ish) to vegetarian. I wanted to try my hand at a few more vegan recipes as I like it when everybody can experience good, healthy and tasty food!

It makes my heart full – Goodley, that one’s for you!

These are also gluten free, nut free and dairy free so any one with severe allergies out there get on board this one!

I was initially going to make them into burgers, but I got home from the gym feeling a bit frazzled from the day and decided to serve them with a small salad of kale, tomato and avocado. Excuse the dodgy pictures, dinner time means no natural light and I was in a rush to eat these!!

Just waiting on burgers!

The bits and pieces

1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

2 tbsp tahini

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1 tbsp cumin seeds

1 tbsp coriander seeds, ground

1-2 tsp hot paprika

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 medium brown onion, chopped

1/2 C chickpea flour

1-2 tbsp water

1 handful of coriander, roughly chopped

salt and pepper, to taste

Oil, for frying (I used sesame)

Tahini Mayonnaise

2 tbsp tahini

2-3 tbsp boiling water

1-2 tbsp lemon juice

1-2 tsp apple cider vinegar (depending on how tangy you like your mayo)

salt and pepper, to taste

IMG_4107

Heat a fry pan on medium to high and brown onion and garlic until softened. Remove from pan.

In a blender (or food processor) add beans, garlic, onion and remaining ingredients (except the tahini mayo!!) and blend until you have a smooth(ish) dough.
Remove from blender and shape into 4 patties. The dough will be sticky – this is ok! If you want you can add a little more chickpea flour but I didn’t!

Heat a large frypan (reuse the one from the garlic and onion!) over medium to high heat with a little oil.
Fry patties for about 6-7 minutes before flipping and cooking for another 5 or so minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small mixing bowl or jug – combine tahini, lemon juice, salt and pepper, vinegar and boiling water.
Mix well. Initially, the tahini will become chunky and separate from the boiling water – keep stirring it’ll come back together.
Add a little more water depending on how thick or thin you’d like it.

Remover patties from heat and serve with whatever your heart desires! On a bun, wrap or with salad. Avocado is a must!!
Drizzle with the mayo…

Presentation may be lacking, but taste wise - they're the bomb!
Presentation may be lacking, but taste wise – they’re the bomb!
7 thoughts on “Cannellini Bean Burgers with Tahini Mayonnaise.

  1. Hi. I made these except I substituted garbanzo for the cannelloni beans. Loved the tahini mayo. These were very tasty!
    😀Susan

Leave a Reply

