Raspberry Pancakes.

Raspberries.

I get up early most mornings. Ok, I get up early EVERY morning.

I like the feeling of being awake before the rest of the world. I don’t really do much – ferret around reading some blogs, writing blog posts.

Then I make myself a coffee and breakfast. I like to give myself enough time in the mornings to do this…

Take it slow before the madness of the day begins.

I’ve tried to get into the habit of exercising in the mornings, to no avail. I’ll do it for a week or two and I feel great. But the habit doesn’t seem to stick. So I’ve compromised with myself. Get up early and chill out before heading off to work. Exercise in the afternoons. I’m ok with that. Especially when I make myself breakfasts like the one below…

Luscious raspberries, soft fluffy pancakes topped with a piece of my peanut butter fudge. Oh stop that!

The bits and pieces – serves 1

1/3 C buckwheat flour

2 tbsp psyllium husks

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1 organic free range egg

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

1/2 C raspberries

3 tbsp milk of choice

1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp greek yoghurt (omit for vegan and dairyfree options it will still be great!)

1 tbsp coconut oil, for frying

shredded coconut, for garnish

1 – 2 pieces of fudge (or banana etc.), to serve

Again – if you want a vegan version omit the egg and yoghurt. Use plant sourced milk and add 1Tbsp chia + 3 Tbsp water to the mix.

Pancakes!

In a mixing bowl add milk and vinegar and leave sit for 5 minutes (while you get the other ingredients out of the cupboard!).

Add egg, rice malt syrup, vanilla, yoghurt and half the raspberries. Combine well.

Add flour to wet mix and psyllium husks. Stir until combined – ensuring not to over mix! No one likes tough pancakes!

Heat frypan over medium – high heat and add coconut oil. Distribute 5 even heapings of mix in pan and cook for 5 minutes before flipping. Cook for another 3-4 minutes.

Serve with remaining raspberries, coconut and chocolate fudge… and a bangin’ cup of coffee!

Enjoy!

Stacked!

Leave a Reply

