Pumpkin Pancakes.

Top View!

I’m on a bit of a pancake binge at the moment…

First it was porridge, now it’s pancakes… I really need to kick this habit, but they’re just so good. These little guys are good for you too! So for now, my pancake obsession lives on through the justification that these babies are packed full of fibre, complex carbs and healthy fats.

I mean, come on! They have a vegetable in them!

These are gluten free and you could totally make them vegan by replacing the egg with a chia seed mix (1 Tbsp chia seeds + 3 Tbsp plant sourced milk).

I’m going for a massive run today, I have picked a 10k race 8 weeks away and I’m trying to stick with a training plan as best I can to see how I go. I’m hoping these babies give me the fuel I need to charge through some serious sprints today!!

+UPDATE+ These guys kept me full until after 12pm when I realised that I really needed to eat something for lunch!!!

A close up of these is absolutely necessary!
A close up of these is absolutely necessary!
Look at those babies!
Look at those babies!

The bits and pieces – serves 1

1/3 C buckwheat flour

2 tbsp psyllium husk

3-4 tbsp milk of choice

1 tbsp greek yoghurt (omit if following vegan option)

1 tsp apple cider vinegar (if you don’t have this any vinegar will do)

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

3 tbsp pumpkin puree (steam pumpkin til super soft + whack in blender til smooth)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp all spice

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 organic free-range egg

1/2 banana

1 tbsp peanut butter (or any nut butter – I served these for Lise with macadamia butter and they were amazing!!)

coconut oil (or olive etc.) to fry

Stacked!
Topped with macadamia butter, banana and cinnamon honey. Wow!

In a mixing bowl add milk and vinegar. Leave sit for 5 minutes.

To milk and vinegar mix, add egg, vanilla, rice malt syrup, yoghurt and pumpkin. Mix well.

Add remaining ingredients to wet mixture. careful not to over mix or your pancakes will be tough!

In a large fry pan, heat coconut oil over medium – high heat. Spoon out mixture into about 5 pancakes. I find if you spoon out 5 tablespoons and divide the remaining mixture into these five pancakes it’s a bit easier to flip and control!

Cook for about 4-5 minutes before flipping. Cook for another 3 minutes.

Remove pancakes from pan and serve with a dollop of nut butter of choice and half a banana and honey if you wish.

Enjoy!

Gorgeous Lisey loving these pancakes - it's the least I can do for this beautiful lady!
Gorgeous Lisey loving these pancakes – it’s the least I can do for this beautiful lady!
Leave a Reply

