Chocolate Pancake Pudding.

Top view.

I hope we’ve all recovered from my previous post… I’ll try not to write too many tear jerkers. I’ve got to say though, the response I received from putting my story out there has been wonderful.

As soon as I hit publish I had bloggers remorse. “SHIIIIIIIIIT!!! What have I just done?!” I thought to myself as I sat sweating bullets on the lounge.

It didn’t take long for people to send some lovely words my way – and to all of you, thank you for your encouragement! At the end of the day, if it helps someone else not be so afraid or ashamed of what they’re going through then I’ll be pretty happy.

Now, onto the chocolatey goodness that I accidentally discovered on Saturday. I wasn’t expecting these to pancake like they did – I was going for cookies at the time. But I think this is definitely a better result!!

Holy shit balls Batman. These are good! And, I think I deserve a self high-five… I managed to bake these on Saturday morning and not devour them until Sunday. Alright.

I wouldn’t replace the nut meal if possible. Obviously, if you’ve got a nut allergy then yeah, your life is a little more important than sticking to this recipe completely! But for everyone else – make sure you do it! It just adds a depth to the chocolate, because sometimes I find chocolate baking to kind of just fall flat. It LOOKS so dark and delicious then you take a bite and it’s disappointing and dry.

This makes a single serve. However, it’s the kind of recipe I would totally pull out for that special someone you’re trying to impress. These are SUPER easy – yet they taste like you’re a baking genius.

You can thank me later…

Just double the recipe for 2, triple for 3 etc. etc.

Just one more shot - they're so good!
Just one more shot – they’re so good!
ok, one more!
ok, one more!

The bits and pieces

2 tbsp hazelnut meal

1 tbsp gluten free all purpose flour (buckwheat would also work)

1 tbsp dessicated coconut

2 tbsp coconut cream

1 tsp organic vanilla extract

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

1 tsp chia seeds

2 tsp cocoa powder

1/2 tsp bi carb soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

Ganache

2 tsp cocoa powder

1 tsp coconut oil

1 tbsp rice malt syrup

1 tsp water

Pre heat oven to 175°C (adjust accordingly to how much of a beast your oven is/is not) and line a baking try with baking paper.

In a small bowl mix chia seeds and coconut cream and let stand for 5 minutes.

In another mixing bowl combine dry ingredients. Add rice malt syrup and vanilla to chia mix and combine well.

Add wet ingredients to dry and stir through.

Spoon out three tablespoons of mixture on to prepared baking tray (it should make 6 if you have doubled the mix) making sure you leave enough room for them to spread.

Pop in the oven for about 8-10 minutes. You want them to be crunchy on top but soft in the middle.

While these are cooking away in the oven combine the ganache ingredients in a small bowl or pouring jug and mix well.

Remove pancake puddings from the oven and let stand for a few minutes to cool. Remove from tray and stack on top of each other.

You want them to look like this!
You want them to look like this!

Drizzle the ganache over the top and top with shredded coconut or anything else your heart desires.

These are best served warm.

I warmed mine through for 20 seconds in the microwave on Sunday – DEEEELISH!

Served!

20130325-171757.jpg

Leave a Reply

