Sweet Potato Brownies

Sweet potato brownies – where have you been all my life?!

Yes, I know – before you accuse me of being a crazy, dirty hippie (Andrew Bowring – I’m looking at you) give this recipe a shot. I LOVE that I can justify eating multiple brownies at a time because these are healthy, yeah?!

These brownies are super dense and very rich… mmmmm drool. Another sugar free (fructose and refined sugars) recipe I have been messing with. I’m pretty pleased with these little guys…

I adapted this recipe from sugar free monarchy – an awesome little blog I stumbled across the other day. I have added her link to my blog make sure you check her out!

I think you could almost get away with ditching the eggs if you wanted to make this vegan – perhaps use a chia egg mix instead (chia seeds soaked in water). Let me know how you go!

Coconut Butter... MMMM
Coconut Butter… MMMMRice Malt Syrup - Absolute superstar!
Rice Malt Syrup – Absolute superstar!

The bits and pieces

1 cup sweet potato, steamed and mashed

1/3 – 1/2 cup cocoa powder, depending on how dark you like your brownies

1/3 cup flaxmeal

2 organic free-range eggs

2/3 cup rice malt syrup

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 tbsp vanilla essence

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup coconut cream

2 tbsp organic natural peanut butter

Pre-heat oven to 180ºC and grease a small baking tray.

In a large mixing bowl, add sweet potato, eggs, vanilla essence, rice malt syrup, coconut oil and coconut cream. Stir well!

In another mixing bowl, combine remaining ingredients and mix well.

Add dry mix to wet mix and stir, stir, stir until well combined! Mixture will be quite thick and sticky – mmmm fudgey goodness!

Spoon mixture into prepared baking tin and using spoon, distribute evenly.

Pop in the oven for 5-8 minutes before removing and adding 2 dollops of peanut butter. Using a skewer, drag the peanut butter through the top of the brownies. Bake for another 7-10 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool before slicing.

I stored these in the freezer and ate them frozen YUM! If you’re not into that, which is totally fine… store them in the fridge!

Frozen Brownies!
These little guys have come straight from the freezer!
Leave a Reply

