Chocolate, Coconut and Banana Porridge.

Oats!I wish I could justify my obsession for porridge with a cool change – I can’t! The weather here has been amazing, Summer is holding on for dear life before going to visit our friends in the North.

So basically, I have just been sweating it out each morning over a bowl of delciousness because it’s just toooooo good to give up!

This is dessert for breakfast.

To think, just over 12 months ago it was a struggle to convince myself I needed to eat breakfast, or regularly for that matter! Now I can’t get enough of breakfast – or any other meal.

Best part is this brekky is super healthy for you, loaded with complex carbs, good fats, fibre and protein. So it’s totally ok to have dessert for breakfast – not that it’d stop me anyways!

I initially blended up a few over ripe bananas with a tin of coconut milk and a generous dash of cinnamon, popped it in the freezer to have as ice-cream. Trouble with this is, it froze (shock, I know!) and I had to leave it thaw for a little while before face planting into it…

Sooo I gave up, popped it in the fridge one night to add to my oats in the morning. Do it. SO good.

Now, I know some of you will freak out because I have added an egg – deal with it. Please try it and if you still don’t like it, you can turn your nose up then… but you won’t…

Again, if you want to make this vegan – omit the egg and add a touch more psyllium husks to help it firm up.

I love this because it feels so naughty AND it keeps me full until around lunchtime. Which is rare for me, usually I’m searching for something around 10ish to snack on.

The bits and pieces

An egg in your oats will change your life!
An egg in your oats will change your life!

1/2 C banana cinnamon coconut mix (see above)

1/2 C rolled oats (I use a five grain mix with rice and spelt oats)

1/2 C water

1 free-range egg, lightly whisked

1 tsp vanilla essence

1/2 C blueberries (fresh or frozen)

1 tsp psyllium husks

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tbsp organic (or natural) peanut butter

sprinkle of shredded coconut to serve

In a small saucepan bring water, coconut banana mix and oats to boil. Add in vanilla essence and cocoa powder, stirring constantly (I learnt the hard way, walked away from my saucepan for 5 minutes and they got stuck on the bottom!).

This will take about 5 or so minutes. Once oats have begun to soften and are almost cooked, turn the heat  to low and pop in the egg. Stir through well until egg begins to set.

Turn off heat and add psyllium husks and mix well.

Spoon into a bowl and top with blueberries, dollop of peanut butter and sprinkle of coconut.

Enjoy this fudgey breakfast wonderland – you can thank me later!Cooked!

Leave a Reply

