Kale, Zucchini and Carrot Savoury Muffins.

I’ve recently discovered the awesomeness of online organic grocery shopping… Seriously amazing! My first delivery arrived on my birthday – what a great present to myself!

I’ve been slowly eating my way through all of this wonderful produce and decided it was time to whip up some savoury muffins in order to use up some of the veggies I have to get through!

After an awesome Australia Day at my friends house – think pool party, JJJ Countdown and beers (lots of beers!), I needed something to fuel my body after a weekend of punishing it!!

These savoury muffins are awesome and again, RIDICULOUSLY easy – because of the amount of eggs they’re kind of half muff/half frittata – and seriously delicious and gluten free!

Pre-Baked Muff!

The bits and pieces

6 organic free-range eggs

1/2 cup milk

1 cup quinoa flour

1/2 cup coconut flour

1 zucchini, chopped

1 carrot, grated

1 cup cabbage, chopped

1/2 spanish onion, chopped

1 cup kale, chopped

1 Tbsp cumin seeds

1 Tbsp coriander seeds, ground

1 tsp, hot paprika

3 gloves garlic, crushed

1 tsp, baking powder

Salt and peeper, to taste

 

Pre-heat oven to 150°C. Grease a muffin tray.

Fry onion and garlic in frypan for 5 minutes or until onion has softened. Add kale, cabbage, cumin, paprika and coriander – continue to fry for 5 minutes or until cabbage and kale have begun to soften. Remove from heat.

In a large mixing bowl add eggs, milk, salt and pepper. Whisk lightly. Add remaining ingredients and fold through egg mix.

Spoon into prepared muffin tray and bake for about 15minutes. Remove from oven when muffins are almost cooked as they will continue to cook slightly once removed from heat.

Let cool for 10 minutes before turning out.

I served these with ricotta – you could also serve with a small side salad of rocket and tomato relish.

Have a play around with the ingredients – chuck in mushrooms or anything else you fancy!

Delish!

Muff - Baked!

4 thoughts on “Kale, Zucchini and Carrot Savoury Muffins.

  1. That looks HEAVENLY! But how about just using plain GF flour instead of all those which I dont have? Would it work okay in your opinion?

  2. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?

    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different
    then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

