Mulled Wine.

For some reason I have a habit of consuming mulled wine at gigs or prior to heading out to see one. I experienced my first cup of mulled wine a couple of months ago at one of the local bars. I decided that it was absolutely necessary that I experience it again and endeavoured to recreate it at home.

Success! This is a fantastic recipe. It is so simple and super warming and delicious. I have made this one a couple of times now and is perfect for Friday evening drinks with your friends. Last time I made this I was on my way to see the lovely Gossling. I arrived super warm and very, very giggly.

I have made this once with oranges and once with limes as that was the only thing I had in the house. I can honestly say that it really doesn’t make that much difference so if you are partial to lime go for it! I have a habit of leaving half drunk wine bottles to sit and oxidise during the week. I usually decide I’d like a glass or two with dinner and leave the rest. Fast forward to the weekend, I have multiple bottles that, until I discovered mulling wine would sit in the kitchen unused because they’ve become oxidised and deemed unsuitable to drink. I made this with a couple of half finished bottles on the weekend and it was delicious.

The bits and pieces

 

2 ½ – 3 bottles of red wine of your choice

1 whole orange quartered

1 cup of organic raw sugar

3 bay leaves

1 whole cinnamon stick

6 whole cloves

2 star anise

1 whole nutmeg

Place a large saucepan on the hotplate at high heat. Add the sugar. Squeeze the orange quarters into the saucepan and drop them in. Add just enough red wine to cover the sugar and bring to the boil. The idea here is to create a sort of red wine sugar syrup.

Add 10-12 gratings of nutmeg, the cinnamon stick, cloves and bay leaves and leave to infuse with the sugar syrup for about 10 minutes. Turn the heat down and add the remaining red wine. You want the wine to be warming through but take care not to over heat as this will cause the alcohol to evaporate and result in less giggles! Add the star anise and leave for 5 minutes. Remove the orange quarters.

Serve immediately!

NOTE: I turn the heat off after I have served the first round of glasses and turn the heat back on when I need more in order to prevent over boiling.

One thought on “Mulled Wine.

Leave a Reply

